Skip to main content
Harvard University Press - home
Library of History, Volume XI

Library of History, Volume XI

Fragments of Books 21–32

Diodorus Siculus

Translated by Francis R. Walton

ISBN 9780674994508

Publication date: 01/01/1957

Remains of a universal chronicle.

Diodorus Siculus, Greek historian of Agyrium in Sicily (ca. 80–20 BC), wrote forty books of world history, called Library of History, in three parts: mythical history of peoples, non-Greek and Greek, to the Trojan War; history to Alexander's death (323 BC); history to 54 BC. Of this we have complete Books 1–5 (Egyptians, Assyrians, Ethiopians, Greeks) and Books 11–20 (Greek history 480–302 BC); and fragments of the rest. He was an uncritical compiler, but used good sources and reproduced them faithfully. He is valuable for details unrecorded elsewhere, and as evidence for works now lost, especially writings of Ephorus, Apollodorus, Agatharchides, Philistus, and Timaeus.

The Loeb Classical Library edition of Diodorus Siculus is in twelve volumes.


  • Francis Redding Walton (1910–1989) taught at Florida State University and the University of Chicago and was Director of the Gennadius Library of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

Book Details

  • 496 pages
  • 4-1/4 x 6-3/8 inches
  • Harvard University Press

From this author