Skip to main content

30% Off New Releases: Explore the List

Harvard University Press - home
Cyclops. Alcestis. Medea

Cyclops. Alcestis. Medea


Edited and translated by David Kovacs

ISBN 9780674995604

Publication date: 01/01/1994

Three plays by ancient Greece’s third great tragedian.

One of antiquity's greatest poets, Euripides has been prized in every age for the pathos, terror, and intellectual probing of his dramatic creations. The new Loeb Classical Library edition of his plays is in six volumes.

In Volume I of the edition are Cyclops, the only complete satyr play that has survived from antiquity; Alcestis, the story of a woman who agrees, in order to save her husband's life, to die in his place; and Medea, a revenge tragedy in which Medea kills her own children to punish their father.


  • A well-executed and stimulating production.

    —Classical Review


  • David Kovacs is Hugh H. Obear Professor of Classics at the University of Virginia.

Book Details

  • 432 pages
  • 4-1/4 x 6-3/8 inches
  • Harvard University Press

From this author