Skip to main content

Black History Month: Select Books 30% Off

Harvard University Press - home
Music of My Future

Music of My Future

The Schoenberg Quartets and Trio

Edited by Reinhold Brinkmann and Christoph Wolff

ISBN 9780964031715

Publication date: 12/15/2001

Schoenberg’s quartets and trio, composed over a nearly forty-year period, occupy a central position among twentieth-century chamber music. This volume, based on papers presented at a conference in honor of David Lewin, collects a wide range of approaches to Schoenberg’s pieces.

The first part of the book provides a historical context to these works, examining Viennese quartet culture and traditions, Webern’s reception of Schoenberg’s Second Quartet, Schoenberg’s view of the Beethoven quartets, and the early reception of Schoenberg’s First Quartet. The second part examines musical issues of motive, text setting, meter, imitative counterpoint, and closure within Schoenberg’s quartets and trio.


  • Reinhold Brinkmann is Ditson Professor of Music at Harvard University.
  • Christoph Wolff is Adams University Research Professor at Harvard University.

Book Details

  • 208 pages
  • Harvard University Department of Music