Cover: Myths about the St. Bartholomew’s Day Massacres, 1572–1576, from Harvard University PressCover: Myths about the St. Bartholomew’s Day Massacres, 1572–1576 in E-DITION

Myths about the St. Bartholomew’s Day Massacres, 1572–1576

Available from De Gruyter »

Product Details


$65.00 • £54.95 • €60.00

ISBN 9780674182202

Publication Date: 02/22/1988

269 pages



Harvard University Press has partnered with De Gruyter to make available for sale worldwide virtually all in-copyright HUP books that had become unavailable since their original publication. The 2,800 titles in the “e-ditions” program can be purchased individually as PDF eBooks or as hardcover reprint (“print-on-demand”) editions via the “Available from De Gruyter” link above. They are also available to institutions in ten separate subject-area packages that reflect the entire spectrum of the Press’s catalog. More about the E-ditions Program »

  • Introduction
  • 1. The Role of the Printing Press
  • 2. The Hero: Gaspard de Coligny
  • 3. Heroic Communities: Sancerre and La Rochelle
  • 4. International Propaganda: The Reveille-matin
  • 5. Appeals to the Poles
  • 6. Appeals to the Swiss and the Germans
  • 7. Appeals to the English
  • 8. An Appeal to the Estates-General: The Franco-Gallia
  • 9. An Appeal to Inferior Magistrates: Du droit des magistrats
  • 10. Appeals to the People: The Politique and the Discours de la servitude volontaire
  • 11. Tyrannicide: The Discours politiques
  • 12. Political Assemblies and the Search for a New Hero
  • 13. The Villain: Catherine de Médicis
  • Conclusion
  • Abbreviations
  • Notes
  • Bibliography
  • Index

Recent News

Black lives matter. Black voices matter. A statement from HUP »

From Our Blog

logo of the MacArthur Foundation

Nicole Fleetwood and Monica Muñoz Martinez Awarded MacArthur Fellowships

Harvard University Press congratulates its authors Nicole Fleetwood and Monica Muñoz Martinez for being named to the 2021 class of 25 MacArthur Fellows. The prestigious no-strings-attached $625,000 awards are given to individuals “who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.”