Cover: Serge Koussevitzky, The Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the New American Music, from Harvard University PressCover: Serge Koussevitzky, The Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the New American Music in E-DITION

Serge Koussevitzky, The Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the New American Music

Product Details


$65.00 • £54.95 • €60.00

ISBN 9780674430778

Publication Date: 11/21/1946

199 pages

1 illustration


Available from De Gruyter »

Media Requests:

Related Subjects

Harvard University Press has partnered with De Gruyter to make available for sale worldwide virtually all in-copyright HUP books that had become unavailable since their original publication. The 2,800 titles in the “e-ditions” program can be purchased individually as PDF eBooks or as hardcover reprint (“print-on-demand”) editions via the “Available from De Gruyter” link above. They are also available to institutions in ten separate subject-area packages that reflect the entire spectrum of the Press’s catalog. More about the E-ditions Program »

With the turn of the century, American music began to develop a language of its own, and when Serge Koussevitzky became the world-renowned conductor of the Boston Symphony orchestra he made that language familiar to an ever-widening public both at home and abroad. This illuminating study of American symphonic music is focused, therefore, on the history of its presentation during the last quarter of a century by Dr. Koussevitzky and the Boston Symphony Orchestra. All students and amateurs of music will welcome this informed and authoritative volume.

Hugo Leichtentritt begins his book with a general picture of the slow growth of a real American style as it was influenced by jazz; by Indian and Black music, by the discovery of American folklore of English origin; and by the arrival in this country, after the rise of totalitarianism, of notable European musicians. The author then discusses the one hundred odd American symphonic scores which were performed by Koussevitzsky from 1924-1946. His aim is to present his critical appraisal of these scores within the framework of a classified stylistic analysis of the various trends in American music, from the older generation of American composers, represented by Foote, Chadwick, Mac-Dowell, and Hadley to the new Americanism of Copland, Harris, Schuman, Barber, Creston, and Leonard Bernstein.

No study of modern American music could be complete without an appraisal of the art and the influence of its most notable ally among conductors. The final section of this work consists of a detailed analysis of Dr. Koussevitzky as a major cultural force and as an educator of the first rank, and describes his art as a conductor more precisely and exhaustively than has yet been done.

Recent News

Black lives matter. Black voices matter. A statement from HUP »

From Our Blog

Photograph of the book Fearless Women against red/white striped background

A Conversation with Elizabeth Cobbs about Fearless Women

For Women’s History Month, we are highlighting the work of Elizabeth Cobbs, whose new book Fearless Women shows how the movement for women’s rights has been deeply entwined with the history of the United States since its founding. Cobbs traces the lives of pathbreaking women who, inspired by American ideals, fought for the cause in their own ways